Mount St. Mary's Set to Host 2018 Northeast Conference Track and Field Championships

Mount St. Mary's Set to Host 2018 Northeast Conference Track and Field Championships

May 5-6, 2018, Morgan Track, Emmitsburg, Md.


The Mount St. Mary's University men's and women's outdoor track and field teams host the 2018 Northeast Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships this weekend at Morgan Track.


All NEC students with proper institutional I.D. will be admitted free. All other individuals will be charged admission. Ticket prices are $10 per day for adults, $5 per day for those under 18. Children 10 years of age and under will be admitted free. Two-day tickets also will be available, $15 for adults and $8 for children 10 to 18 years of age. All tickets will be sold at the entrance of the complex.


Parking will be available in the gravel lots next to Knott Arena.  The address for Mount St. Mary's University is 16300 Old Emmitsburg Road, Emmitsburg, MD 21727.  The track is on the athletic side of campus, follow signs for the PNC Sports Complex.

NEC Weekly Honors

The Mount's outdoor track and field teams

Mount Athletes on the NEC Performance Lists (Ranked in the top 5 in the NEC this year)

Men's Team
100m:  Justin Kimble (1st, 10.48)
200m:  Justin Kimble (2nd, 21.38)
1500m:  Benjamin Finnigan (3rd, 3:53.10)
5,000m:  Nicolas Fransham (3rd, 14:52.18); Will Merritt (4th, 15:02.09)
10,000m:  Nicolas Fransham (4th, 30:33.62)
3,000m Steeplechase:  Chris Evans (5th, 9:54.79)
High Jump:  Chris Wray (2nd, 2.04m, 6' 8.25")
Pole Vault:  Colin Waitzman (3rd, 4.66m, 15' 3.5")
Long Jump:  D.J. Workcuff (1st, 7.23m, 23' 8.75")
Triple Jump:  Sean Fahey (1st, 14.19m, 46' 6.75")
Shot Put:  Zachary Delker (3rd, 15.44m, 50' 8")
Discus:  Matthew Selba (2nd, 47.46m, 155' 8"); Alex Devine (3rd, 46.77m, 153' 5")
Hammer Throw:  Brenden Chavis (1st, 58.04m, 190' 5"); Matthew Selba (5th, 49.13m, 161' 2")
Javelin:  Christopher Gabor (5th, 53.53m, 175' 7")
4x100m Relay:  T3rd, 41.49
4x400m Relay:  3rd, 3:23.62
4x800m Relay:  3rd, 8:03.32

Women's Team
100m:  Kayla Barnes (1st, 11.87)
200m:  Kayla Barnes (1st, 23.97)
400m:  Mariah McLane (5th, 57.07)
100m Hurdles: Najae Nickerson (4th, 14.63)
High Jump:  Chelsea Wright (2nd, 1.63m, 5' 4.25")
Pole Vault:  Rachel Finn (2nd, 3.82m, 12' 6.25"); Moriah Fitzgerald (5th, 3.71m, 12' 2")
Long Jump:  Natalia Hinton (1st, 5.84m, 19' 2")
Shot Put:  Erin Sample (2nd, 14.23m, 46' 8.25")
Discus:  Jesslyn Manni (5th, 41.12m, 134' 11")
Hammer Throw:  Erin Sample (3rd, 47.93m, 157' 3")
4x100m Relay:  2nd, 47.73
4x400m Relay:  2nd, 3:53.77
4x800m Relay:  3rd, 10:02.12

The Mount and the NEC Championships

The Mount men's team won the NEC title in 1991, 1996 and 1997.
The Mount women's team has won the NEC title in 1993, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998

Men's Most Outstanding Performer
Peter Rono (1991), Andrew Smith (1992), Corey Brown (Field, 2007), Chad Brown (Track, 2010)

Rookie of the Meet
Coby Rosemier-Gussio (2012), D.J. Workcuff (2015), Brian Sagendorf (2016), Justin Kimble (2017)

Men's Coach of the Year
Mike Merritt (1996)

Women's Outstanding Performer
Laure Smith (1991 and 1992), Rebeccah Wassner (1997), Nina Victorin (Field, 2006), Ashley DeCruise (Track, 2011)

Rookie of the Meet
Ashlyn DeCruise (2008), Sarah Gardner (2015)

Women's Coach of the Year
Mike Merritt (1995, 1996, 1998)